Improved instructions for making a professional CD envelope purely by folding (origami)

It has been a year since I released my own design of an origami CD envelope. It is the best design I’ve seen so far. Apparently though, the original instructions were quite hard to follow. So I tried to improve the instructions and include clearer diagrams. You’ll find everything on this 82Kb file (Improved instructions for origami CD envelope). Once I manage to convert the diagrams into individual JPEG picture files, I’ll post them here too.

A YouTube video that demonstrates the procedure is also available here.

The original instructions are here.

If you think the instructions can be improved further, please send me a note or leave a comment.

Happy new year to all!

6 Comments

  1. Posted March 10, 2009 at 10:52 am | Permalink

    Hi Roberto, I’ve updated my post about the origami design of mine, and tried to email you but the server bounced it back, so here I am.🙂

  2. Roberto Verzola
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 10:09 pm | Permalink

    Hi Chris. Yes, my email server sometimes goes offline. If you try again after a day or two, it usually comes through.

    Regards,

    Roberto

  3. emily
    Posted August 8, 2009 at 9:46 am | Permalink

    your instructions were easy to follow up until about slide 22. I recommend naming the “flaps” better. Something like flap A, B, or C would help.
    I was really excited about this, but ended up getting so frustrated I threw it away.

  4. Roberto Verzola
    Posted August 8, 2009 at 9:00 pm | Permalink

    Sorry about the frustration. Were you working on the instructions only or have you seen the video? In case you haven’t, then perhaps the video can make it much easier. Just search YouTube for “best origami envelope”.

  5. Rekrul
    Posted January 31, 2010 at 9:11 pm | Permalink

    There’s a much easier way to make a neat, secure CD envelope. I can’t claim credit for it, as I originally found it on a web site that I’ve long since forgotten. However, I have been using it for a couple years now. It’s fast and super-easy to make and works great.

    Start with a letter sized sheet of paper. Place the CD in the center of the sheet. Fold the long edges up and over the CD, making sure to keep them square. After folding both long edges, fold the two ends up and over the CD (they will overlap). That’s it.

    To use, unfold the paper, place the disc in the center, fold the long edges over it, then fold the ends, tucking one end inside the folds of the other. You can fold down the corners of one end to make tucking it easier, but it’s not necessary. The CD is completely covered, the envelope stays secure and it makes a neat square package with no extra crease lines or odd flaps.

    To assist in centering the disc on the sheet, I used another sheet of paper to make a template that hooks onto two edges of the paper and has a hole positioned at the exact cente of the sheet. I slip it on a sheet, use a pencil to mark the center, use that to position the disc, then erase the mark once the envelope is folded. You can also just estimate the placement, but that often leads to uneven folds, which look sloppy. Or you can fold the paper in quarters to find the center, but that leaves crease lines which also look sloppy.

    True, it doesn’t look as fancy as some others I’ve seen, but each one only takes a few seconds to make and they work well.

  6. Roberto Verzola
    Posted February 28, 2010 at 6:30 pm | Permalink

    Haha. Yes, of course. I’d use the same method myself if I were in a hurry. There’s a time for beauty and elegance and there’s a time for the quick-and-dirty.

Leave a Reply

